The Region of Epirus is one of the thirteen regions of Greece. It is located in the northwestern part of the country. It is bordered on the west by the Ionian Sea, on the east it borders with Macedonia and Thessaly and on the south it extends to the Amvrakikos gulf and the Regional Unity of Aitoloakarnania.

It consists of the R.U. Arta, Thesprotia, Ioannina & Preveza. The seat of the Region is in Ioannina.

Population: 336,856 (2011 census)

Total Area: 9,203 km

Languages: Greek, English (widely)

Currency: Euro

Time Zone: UTC / GMT +2 hours


Regional Units – Municipalities

Regional unity Municipality
Arta Municipality of Arta
Municipality of Nikolaos Skoufa
Municipality of Central Tzoumerka
Municipality of Georgios Karaiskakis
Thesprotia Municipality of Igoumenitsa
Municipality of Souli
Municipality of Filiates
Ioannina Municipality of North Tzoumerka
Municipality of Dodoni
Municipality of Zagori
Municipality of Zitsa
Municipality of Ioannina
Municipality of Konitsa
Municipality of Metsovo
Municipality of Pogoni
Preveza Municipality of Ziros
Municipality of Parga
Municipality of Preveza


Geography – Climate

Epirus extends to the northwestern tip of Greece. With the center of Lake Pamvotida and with a radius of about 100 mm, a circle is deleted on the natural map, that is, a region that encloses the entire relief of the continental soil. Pindos and its low extensions develop within this cycle. The climate of the wider continent combines Mediterranean and Meso-European characteristics. The continental cycle of the seasons of the year is formed by the prolonged winters, the short summers and the short seasons, of spring and autumn. However, the main feature of the climate of Epirus is the high rainfall, which in places exceeds 2,500 mm / year.



Airports & Heliports

The Region of Epirus has the following airports:

  1. Ioannina State Airport “King Pyrros”
  2. Aktio State Airport


Road Access

There is also the possibility of access from Northern Greece via the Egnatia Motorway, as well as from Central and Southern Greece via the Ionian Motorway.



In the Region of Epirus there is the Port of Igoumenitsa, the Port of Preveza and the Port Station of Parga.